The Day I Craved for Red Velvet Cake

imageI had been very busy these last few days, I got research projects to be made for the girls, I also have to compute for an accounting assignment plus I need to teach a boy his English lessons, he has a short quiz tomorrow.  Great, I have been sleeping for only 2 hours and I think I will stay until the morning today.  I need to beat the deadline.  This is just one of the many part-time jobs that I have here in Saudi Arabia.  Actually, my part-time job gives me more money than my salary, sounds ironic right?  

So I mentally counted the number of Galaxy Flutes that I keep in the cabinet.  I remembered I still have two bags of my favorite potato chips and a can of Coca Cola.  They will just be enough to make me survive a  long night.  Unfortunately when I opened the kitchen cabinet, I found out that there were no chocolate bars or chips.   I forgot that I ate them with the ladies while watching  Indian movie.  Oh my God!  I can’t go to the supermarket now, the rain is pouring heavily.  Well, this is very bad news, I can’t stay awake without those “important” things.

Inspiration struck! Yes, I will make a cake, a chocolate cake.  Do I have enough time to spare? Oh no, I need to teach a boy at nine tonight.  To make a cake would at least require an hour or two, with preparation and frosting!  I need something quick, a cobbler perhaps or a self-saucing pudding?  Right!  No, I think I would love to make some red velvet chocolate cake, something more like a sheet cake, I will not take it from the pan just simply pour the warm frosting and it’s done! I can also give some to the boy later on.  Having this on mind, I started to prepare the ingredients for my red velvet cake.  It’s simple and easy, my easy peasy cake.  So here’s what we need:

FOR THE CAKE:

Nonstick baking spray
2 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk (if not available, simply put 1 tbsp. of white vinegar to a measuring cup then add the milk to make it equal to one cup, let the mixture stand for 5 to 10 minutes, stir, then you have your buttermilk)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 whole eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons vinegar
1 1/2 teaspoons cocoa powder
1 1/2 fluid ounces red food coloring
1/2 cup butter
1 3/4 cup sugar
Directions:
1.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Thoroughly spray a large (18-by-12-inch) sheet cake pan (I made mine in a baking dish because I don’t want to wait, I just want to pour the frosting right away) with nonstick baking spray.

2.  In a medium size bowl, mix together the buttermilk, eggs, vanilla, baking soda and salt together. Stir in the vinegar and set aside. In your mixer, cream the butter and sugar until fluffy. Add the flour and the buttermilk mixture and mix until mixed well. Add the cocoa and food coloring and mix for a couple more minutes, scraping the side of the bowl if necessary. Pour the batter into the baking pan and using a spatula even out the surface.

3.  Pour the batter into the prepared sheet cake pan. Use a large offset spatula or knife to even out the surface. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.

For the Icing:

1/2 cup Finely Chopped Pecans
1/2 stick Butter
4 Tablespoons (heaping) Cocoa

8  Tablespoons Fresh Milk

1 teaspoon Vanilla
1 / 2 cup Powdered Sugar ( you may add some more sugar if you want it very sweet)

Directions:

1.  Chop pecans finely.

2.  Melt butter in a saucepan.

3.  Add cocoa, stir to combine, then turn off heat.

4. Add the milk, vanilla, and powdered sugar. Stir together. Add the pecans, stir together, and pour over warm cake.

Bon appetit!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jim
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 22:52:28

    Sounds good, have you ever tried lemon brownies? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Salve
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 23:16:26

    Thanks for the comment! I will try to search for that recipe, Sir! i hope you have a nice day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Decorating by Donna • Color Expert

A Virtual Color Expert who is highly specialized in designing color for your home.

backpackerlee

Backpacking (and eating) my way around the world!

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

Food, Photography & France

Journal of a food photographer living in France

Long Ago and Far Away

Historical Fiction From Off the Beaten Path

Lausanne's Golden Road

Art - Design - Color

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

Raymund Macaalay's Dev Blog

Helping one developer at a time

eggton

{salty wit + a sweet tooth}

Theme Showcase

Find the perfect theme for your blog.

The Gourmand Traveller

A blog about food.

cookinandshootin

"It's so beautifully arranged on the the plate - you know someone's fingers have been all over it." - Julia Child

The Domestic Man

Gluten-free & Paleo-friendly recipes, inspired by traditional & international cuisines. New recipes every Tuesday.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Finger, Fork & Knife

I'm Kate and Finger, Fork and Knife is where I record the recipes that excite, nourish and inspire me. I focus on wholesome, high-nutrition, home-cooked food - recipes that satisfy and delight. Welcome!

cooking-spree

Putting Love on the Table

movita beaucoup

full of crap

Chef in disguise

Easy authentic middle eastern recipes

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

Wording Well

Writing and editing services at affordable rates.

what's for dinner

The dinners I make

~ Put the light on ~

Photography and soul

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

Tabula Candida

Doodles of a distracted historian

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Where passion and indulgence meets....

from scratch club

{making} food matter together

The Unorthodox Epicure

Confessions of an Aspiring Food Snob

Wendy's Place

Farm Life & Real Food

