CREAMY CHICKEN PASTA

image

I wake up this morning in a very cheerful mood.  Two days ago, we went to the Kingdom of Bahrain and spent two satisfying days of going around the malls and watching movies, going to our favorite coffee shop, buying cheap items in souk and going to our favorite Filipino supermarket.  I bought a lot of Filipino delicacies as they are very rare in my place.  And well, there are no cinemas here in Saudi Arabia and going to Bahrain means picking up through good old habits.  I opened the Ipad with a smile on my face, checked  on my Google+ friends while beaming a totally satisfied smile.  I have 5,695 followers so far  and the community where I am the moderator seems to be doing well.  My good old friends in Facebook are doing great too.  Looking through their profiles, all of them wearing a totally contented smile on their faces.  Their kids are also cute and adorable.  Cherubic faces.  Switching on to Gmail,  I saw this message from WordPress: “Howdy, time to keep up with your goal! Start posting.  This is just a friendly reminder!”   CRAP!!!!  I have completely forgotten about it! Today is quite cold here and I don’t like to walk the half kilometer distance to the supermarket to buy for the ingredients. I just hate the idea of going out in a very cold weather like today.  The air is chilly and the cold seems to penetrate through the layers of clothing that I wear. These are one of those times when I open the storage room and hunt for something to cook like Tom hunting for Jerry!  I saw cans of peeled tomatoes, foul medammes, green peas, a few cans of sweet corn, a few packs of macaroni and a very old, as a matter of fact, already expired can of fruit cocktail!  Oh my God, I was too excited for my forthcoming birthday and the coming Valentines Day that I completely forgotten to check on my supplies.  Being one who never accepts defeat, I tried to think of any recipe that might fit into my very meager supply.

One look at the macaroni shells reminded me of the chicken pasta that we ate in Manama.  It was very creamy and very light.  Can I make one as delicious as the ones we ate two days ago?  My brain echoed a very resounding “NO”.  It is like wishing for a rain in the middle of summer here in Saudi Arabia when the temperature reaches 50 degrees and thirty minutes of going around the park makes you literally soak and wishing for a very cold glass of water.  I was still contemplating with the idea of posting a creamy chicken pasta today while toying with my labneh sandwich and absentmindedly drank my tea.  It was scorching hot!  I forgot that the water was freshly boiled.  My hunger suddenly forgotten and all I could think of is where is that jar of honey that I have been keeping for months!

Anyway, this is the hotel where we stayed.  It has very good amenities and excellent spa.  And the breakfast was just as excellent. A one-hour visit to the spa has wondrous effect.  Ladies need to indulge themselves from time to time.

Manama Center-20120127-00055

Macaroni who made the best recipe so far? Inspiration!  Inspiration!  Inspiration!  Ree Drummond, The Pioneer Woman, has posted a very good creamy chicken pasta recipe.  Perhaps I could follow it and modify some to give my personal touch to the recipe.  So to cut the story short, the pasta that I made was even better than the one we ate in Manama, I can hear groans from you readers or am I just imagining it?   Well, take a look and be the judge or better yet try cooking it and be the judge.  After all, “To taste is to believe”.  Don’t bother to think who said that quotation, I just coined it.  Anyway, why don’t you give this Creamy Chicken Pasta Recipe a try?

Ingredients:

  •  250 grams of macaroni of your own choice (I used shells on my mine as they were the only ones available in my cabinet)
  •  500 grams of chicken skin removed and deboned, cubed
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves grated
  • 1 green bell pepper cubed
  • 1/4 tsp white pepper powder
  • 1 1/2 cups whipping cream
  • 3/4 cup grated mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2  tsp worchestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tsp soya sauce
  • dash of italian seasoning
  • 1/2 cup of sliced mushroom
  • 2 tbsps of tomato paste
  1.  Boil the chicken.
  2. Boil the macaroni in boiling water with a little salt.  Drain then set aside
  3. Saute garlic, mushroom, green pepper and chicken in a saucepan.  Then add the whipping cream, salt, white pepper, Italian seasoning, soya sauce, worchestershire sauce, tomato paste and mozzarella cheese and cook on a gentle heat for five (5)  minutes.
  4. Add the macaroni to the chicken mixture and cook for further 5 minutes then serve warm.  Adjust the consistency of the pasta by adding more whipping cream.

Enjoy!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lausanne
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 22:20:18

    Mmmmmm, sounds yummy. Making me hungry.

    It’s hard to think of you being cold there. But, I am in Florida today and also cold. So, I guess we have to adjust our thinking.

    Now to find something warm and comforting to eat!

    Reply

    • Salve
      Jan 26, 2014 @ 13:30:51

      Hi! I am glad to hear from you. Yes, it is cold here in Saudi Arabia but I guess not as cold as Florida. You are right it is hard to think of something when you are cold and hungry. I ordered the book, that’s the one thing I have been dying to tell you. Three of weeks of waiting and I can soon tell you of what I think of the story. Take care and God protect you from all harm. Thanks for the comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Decorating by Donna • Color Expert

A Virtual Color Expert who is highly specialized in designing color for your home.

backpackerlee

Backpacking (and eating) my way around the world!

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

Sweet Revelations

Sweet DIY Projects Teaching You To Live Soulfully, Resourcefully and Deliciously!

Food, Photography & France

Journal of a food photographer living in France

Long Ago and Far Away

Historical Fiction From Off the Beaten Path

Lausanne's Golden Road

Art - Design - Color

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

Raymund Macaalay's Dev Blog

Helping one developer at a time

eggton

{salty wit + a sweet tooth}

Theme Showcase

Find the perfect theme for your blog.

The Gourmand Traveller

A blog about food.

cookinandshootin

"It's so beautifully arranged on the the plate - you know someone's fingers have been all over it." - Julia Child

The Domestic Man

Gluten-free & Paleo-friendly recipes, inspired by traditional & international cuisines. New recipes every Tuesday.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

Finger, Fork & Knife

I'm Kate and Finger, Fork and Knife is where I record the recipes that excite, nourish and inspire me. I focus on wholesome, high-nutrition, home-cooked food - recipes that satisfy and delight. Welcome!

cooking-spree

Putting Love on the Table

movita beaucoup

full of crap

Chef in disguise

Easy authentic middle eastern recipes

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

Wording Well

Writing and editing services at affordable rates.

what's for dinner

The dinners I make

~ Put the light on ~

Photography and soul

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

Tabula Candida

Doodles of a distracted historian

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Where passion and indulgence meets....

from scratch club

{making} food matter together

The Unorthodox Epicure

Confessions of an Aspiring Food Snob

Wendy's Place

Farmlife & Real Food

