Valentines Day, A Love Story and Red Tres Leches Cake

I can’t imagine loving someone else again or having someone else love me again after almost thirteen (13) years of living alone.  And then it happens. Someone else loves me and I just cannot sleep well at night. The second time of falling in love with someone feels different. The first time I felt like it was a dream  I was  untouched, untainted by anyone. I accepted love with wide open arms and desperation. “Love me, love me, love me!” So he did and  then it fell apart and left me shocked to the core. I realized that people could be cruel and use you, break your heart and leave you.

The second time I fall in love with someone has made me a more sane person.  My first love is when I get all of my insanity out. I behaved like an insane monster because my mind is freaking out about all these new powerful feelings. By the second time, however, I have an idea of what works and what doesn’t. It’s by no means perfect. The insanity will make a cameo at some point. “Hi there, Salvacion. I’m here! Hope you didn’t forget about me!” 

The second time I fall in love with someone is still exciting as the first time.  It is the time when I try to compare two different persons with two different personalities and attributes.  I must admit it feels more “adult and mature.”  I have no idea what adult love actually is but I think it involves making bagel for his breakfast  and maybe even getting a new cat. “This is my new cat Trixie . I got him with the second person I fell in love with because the first person I was in love with would have thrown a cat in the street.”

The second time will not be the first time. The first time is an insane magical  gift  but the second time is more real anyway. The second time involves some amazing love. It also involves  insane jokes and banters and an amazing laughter that really brightens even the most cloudy day.  It is more exciting and fascinating, the distance between Saudi Arabia and America is but an excuse to send messages almost every hour and ask for each other almost every tick of the clock’s minute hand.  It is more remarkable and full of understanding.  He knew how to take care of my heart as he knew what it feels to have someone broke his heart too.  It is more meaningful as we have that tangible special chemistry that we feel whenever we talk to each other.  I know a lot more challenges will come our way but I know there is nothing that we cannot handle and hurdle.  The start might be a little bit wobbly but eventually I know we will find our balance and go on with the journey of discovering love for the second and the last time.

To you, thank you for healing and mending my heart.  Thank you for the shared laughter and the shoulder to cry on when I just cannot stop the tears from my eyes.  Thank you for the steady and warm hand that leads me to a better and brighter future and the strong arms that protects me from all harm.   Happy Valentine’s Day!

image

Red Tres Leches Cake

( A Robert Tyer Inspired Recipe)

Ingredients:

Cake:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 5 large eggs, separated
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 oz. red coloring (this may vary so adjust according to your preference)
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • Tres Leches Mixture:
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • One 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk
  • One 12-ounce can evaporated milk
  • Icing:
  • 1 pint heavy cream, for whipping
  • 3 tablespoons sugar

Directions

  1. For the cake: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a heart-shaped pan.
  2. Sift the flour, baking powder and salt into a large bowl.
  3. Separate the eggs. Beat the egg yolks with 3/4 cup of the sugar on high speed until the yolks are pale yellow. Stir in the milk, vanilla and red coloring. Pour the egg yolk mixture over the flour mixture and stir very gently until combined.
  4. Beat the egg whites on high speed until soft peaks form. With the mixer on, pour in the remaining 1/4 cup sugar and beat until the egg whites are stiff but not dry.   Add the vinegar.  Fold the egg white mixture into the batter very gently until just combined. Spoon into the prepared pan and spread to even out the surface.
  5. Bake until the cake is done, 35 to 40 minutes. Allow to cool in the pan, and then turn out (upside down) onto a rimmed platter.
  6. For the tres leches: Combine the heavy cream, evaporated milk and condensed milk in a small pitcher. Pierce the surface of the cake with a fork several times. Drizzle the milk mixture over the top and allow the cake to sit and absorb the milk mixture. Don’t worry about totally soaking the cake! That’s what you want.
  7. For the icing: Whip the cream with the sugar. Spread it evenly over the top and sides of the soaked cake.

Refrigerate until ready to serve. Several hours is fine. The cooler the cake, the better!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lausanne
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 02:13:57

    I love this! it is so true!

    Reply

    • Salve
      Feb 07, 2014 @ 06:30:46

      Thanks! Yes and I am very happy. After the tears and heartache, I found one that truly makes me happy. Thank you for commenting my dear Lausanne! I am wishing you all the best too!

      Reply

  2. Jim
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 06:48:18

    Hi Salve, I had wondered why you were not emailing me anymore. 😦 I really do hope you’re happy. JIM

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Decorating by Donna • Color Expert

A Virtual Color Expert who is highly specialized in designing color for your home.

backpackerlee

Backpacking (and eating) my way around the world!

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

Food, Photography & France

Journal of a food photographer living in France

Long Ago and Far Away

Historical Fiction From Off the Beaten Path

Lausanne's Golden Road

Art - Design - Color

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

Raymund Macaalay's Dev Blog

Helping one developer at a time

eggton

{salty wit + a sweet tooth}

Theme Showcase

Find the perfect theme for your blog.

The Gourmand Traveller

A blog about food.

cookinandshootin

"It's so beautifully arranged on the the plate - you know someone's fingers have been all over it." - Julia Child

The Domestic Man

Gluten-free & Paleo-friendly recipes, inspired by traditional & international cuisines. New recipes every Tuesday.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Finger, Fork & Knife

I'm Kate and Finger, Fork and Knife is where I record the recipes that excite, nourish and inspire me. I focus on wholesome, high-nutrition, home-cooked food - recipes that satisfy and delight. Welcome!

cooking-spree

Putting Love on the Table

movita beaucoup

full of crap

Chef in disguise

Easy authentic middle eastern recipes

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

Wording Well

Writing and editing services at affordable rates.

what's for dinner

The dinners I make

~ Put the light on ~

Photography and soul

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Around the Hill

Photos, and maybe a geeky blog post or two!

Tabula Candida

Doodles of a distracted historian

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Where passion and indulgence meets....

from scratch club

{making} food matter together

The Unorthodox Epicure

Confessions of an Aspiring Food Snob

Wendy's Place

Farm Life & Real Food

